About Taman Negara

Taman Negara Travel > blog > Taman Negara > About Taman Negara


Taman Negara is home for wildlife and untouch tropical rainforest. The size of Taman Negara is 4,343 km² equal to 7 size of Singapore. Taman Negara covers an area of over a million acres spanning 3 state: Pahang, Kelantan and  Kuala Terengganu. The highest peak  is”Mout Tahan” with height of 2187m. Although is not the highest but it’s the hardest to climb.


The park has its roots as a protected game reserve when an area of 1,300 square KM. In the Pahang State Legislation in 1925 and named as “The Gunung Tahan Game Reserve”.

This area was later expanded in 1938 when the Sultans of Pahang, Terengganu and Kelantan. 3 state collectively combined the present area to be protected as a nature conservation park.  The King George V National Park with the aim of protecting the flora and fauna. Inhabits the area as well as preserving the ecosystem and environment in its natural state. When Malaysia gained independence in 1957. It was then gazette by an Act of Parliament to its present name, Taman Negara National Park.


Department of Wildlife and National Parks (Pejabat Perhilitan) is given the task of managing and maintaining the natural heritage of Taman Negara based on the following objectives*

  • Protect and conserve the flora and fauna and to maintain the tropical rainforest ecosystem
  • Propagate species of flora and fauna
  • Manage Taman Negara as a sustainable recreational area
  • Conserve all objects and places of historical, aesthetic or scientific interest
  • Provide a natural lab for research on species and habitat found for management purposes.

Take Nothing but photographs, leave nothing but footprints

Taman NegaraWildlife Department
1 Response

Leave a Reply

Taman Negara, Pahang, Malaysia
Based on 116 reviews
powered by Facebook
Ujjie Ariffin
Ujjie Ariffin
Nice view, nice track.. Best canopy walk. ❤️

Welcome to Taman Negara

Taman Negara (National Park) is the first and the oldest official Protected jungle. It cover 3 state in total of 4343 sq km (Almost 7 times of Singapore size) with 4 main entrance to the park. Kuala Tahan, Sungai Relau, Kuala Koh and Tanjung Mentong.

Recent Comments


Proceed Booking